Performance Improvement for SQL Server 2005 with Windows Server 2003 SP2

 

A few weeks ago, Ward Ralston wrote on the Windows Server Division Weblog about some of the features and improvements that will be included in Windows Server 2003 SP2, which is now in private beta. One item in particular, caught my eye. He wrote "Service Pack 2 provides performance improvement for SQL Server 2005 under intensive workloads . These improvements are installed by default upon Service Pack 2 installation."

This was frustratingly vague, so I did what any geeky SQL Server DBA would do, I tried to find out some more details online using my favorite search engine. When this failed, I started pestering our local Microsoft Developer Evangelist and our Technical Account Manager to find out some more details…

Now, I do have some more detail, but unfortunately I cannot write about it yet. Suffice it to say that I am encouraged by what I found out, and I am looking forward to the release of Windows Server 2003 SP2.

Technorati Tag: SQL Server

This entry was posted in SQL Server 2005. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Performance Improvement for SQL Server 2005 with Windows Server 2003 SP2

  1. Alec says:

    Can you write about this now that it\’s out?  I\’m very curious about it.

Leave a Reply

