Indoor R/C Helicopter Fun

A few weeks ago, I bought an Air Hogs Havoc Heli, which while fun, is really just a toy. You actually don’t have much control as far as going forward and backward with the Havoc Heli.

I did a little research, and discovered that a good step up to a real indoor R/C helicopter is the E-flite Blade CX2 RTF helicopter. I decided to buy one from Colpar Hobbies, which is my favorite hobby shop. I normally go there to buy plastic models, and the R/C side of the store is unfamiliar territory.

I have been learning to fly the thing, both in my living room (which has a very, very high ceiling, but is only about 15′ x 20′) and in my back yard, which is much harder if there is any wind at all. The key is to be very gentle in your control movements (even though the CX2 is very forgiving), and to immediately shut down the throttle if you are about to crash. Otherwise, you can snap off the plastic blades (which are $4.00 a set).  My minature dachshund Roxie does not know what to make of an R/C helicopter.

So far, I have not had a severe crash or broken anything. We will see how long that lasts…

This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

