Fan Boy in Chief

NewsGator’s founder and CTO, Greg Reinacker has a recent post proclaiming his new found devotion to all things Apple. I have previously blogged about Apple Love here, and Vista bashing here.

It’s very unfortunate that Microsoft has let Vista become such a whipping boy for so many of the cool kids, since perception quickly becomes reality in this industry. If I were Ray Ozzie, I would be a little concerned about this.

One interesting thing that still seems to be true is the relative price/performance advantage of Windows compatible hardware vs. Apple hardware. I went to Apple’s web site, and spec’ed out the most fire breathing MacBook Pro (2.6GHz Core2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 200GB 7200rpm drive) for $4049.00 vs. the best Dell XPS M1730 (2.8GHz Core2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 2x200GB 7200rpm RAID 0, Dual NVidia 8700MGT) for $4174.00.

For a desktop/workstation, a top of the line Mac Pro (2 x 3.0GHz Quad-core Xeon X5365, 16GB RAM, 4 x 750GB 7200rpm SATA drives) for $13,249 vs. a Dell Precision T7400 (2 x 3.16GHz Quad-core Xeon X5460, 32GB RAM, 4 x 1TB 7200rpm SATA drives) for $14,387.

In both cases, significantly better performance and the freedom to choose virtually any hardware configuration from the hardware vendor of your choice vs. the freedom to "be different" and buy what Steve Jobs thinks is best for you.

Another thing to consider is whether your platform of choice can run the applications that are important to you. Can I run Crysis or World in Conflict on a Mac? Can I run a more serious database than FileMaker Pro on a Mac?

This entry was posted in Windows Vista. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fan Boy in Chief

  1. Nick says:

    Geez Glenn – it\’s like someone challenged your manhood ;-)I agree though that the Apple store is a rip off if you want to do any type of upgrade.  I wanted 4 gigs of RAM for my MacBook Pro, but the upgrade on Apple\’s site is a $700.$700!!!!  I could get a complete bare bones PC for that!Instead I bought from http://www.macsales.com – $115 for 4 Gigs with shipping.  That\’s much cheaper than what it cost to boost my tablet to 2 Gigs to run Vista (that was $300).You just need to look around to find better deals – and don\’t get everything from the Apple store.

  2. Gordon says:

    I have to agree, who would want to spend all that money on a Mac, especially when Ubuntu comes in such nice packaging now ;) 

  3. Brian says:

    Couldn\’t you run PosgreSQL or MySQL on a Macbook? I don\’t own a Mac, so I haven\’t tried, but I\’m guessing you could do it.You may even be able to get Oracle running on it, but then you\’d probably get made fun of for using SQLServer naming conventions in an Oracle database😉

Leave a Reply

