More Fun With Windows Home Server Power Pack 2

I decided to upgrade and improve my home network infrastructure a couple of weeks ago, and so far I am pretty happy with the results. I have a home built Windows Home Server, with an ECS GF7100 motherboard and an Intel Core2 Duo E7200 CPU and 2GB of RAM. The ECS motherboard has Gigabit Ethernet and integrated graphics.

The motherboard is installed in an Antec NSK1380 case that has a 350 watt 80 PLUS power supply. The case has three internal 3.5” drive bays. I now have one 500GB WD Caviar Green, and two 1GB WD Caviar Green drives. The 1GB drives are the new WD10EADS models with 32MB of cache and much lower power consumption than the original 1GB WD10EACS units.

   

This server has 2.3TB of usable storage and uses 42 watts of power when the drives are idle and the processor has throttled back with SpeedStep. The power usage peaks at about 57 watts during boot up (according to my trusty Kill-A-Watt meter).

I also upgraded to a D-Link DGS-2208 Gigabit switch and a D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit router, both of which use less power and perform better than the older Linksys products that they replaced. I got Windows Home Server Power Pack 2 installed at the same time.

The new D-Link router lets me use the remote access feature in Windows Home Server, so that I can access my home network from anywhere with Internet access. This works well and is very convenient.

This entry was posted in Windows Home Server. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

