Micron Real SSD C300

Endgadget recently had a post up about the Micron Real SSD C300 family of SATA 6Gbps SSDs that will be available in 128GB and 256GB sizes early next year. Micron has several videos up on their blog that show how a system with this drive performs compared to a standard 7200rpm drive, and against a competitor’s SSD for some common tasks.

I think I may want one of these…  I still don’t have an SSD in any of my personal systems, but that state of affairs won’t be lasting much longer.   I had been looking at the Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, but they have been somewhat hard to find until recently, and they have had some firmware issues relating to the TRIM command.

I have a 10K 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor in my gaming rig at home, and it makes a noticeable difference in performance compared to your typical 7200rpm drive. It most benchmark tasks, the better SSDs do much better than the VelociRaptors.

This entry was posted in Computer Hardware. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Micron Real SSD C300

  1. Jonathan says:

    Don\’t discount some of the other drives on the market. The OCZ Summit is about 1/2 the cost of the Intel, and it has very similar numbers performance wise. I have one in my personal laptop and I\’d recommend it to anyone that is considering a SSD.

Leave a Reply

