Geekbench 2.2 Released

Primate Labs has released Geekbench 2.2.0, which is a free upgrade for Geekbench 2.1.x users. The release notes are here.

Here are the results for my little Toshiba Portege R835, (which has more CPU horsepower than the $25,000 Dell PowerEdge 6800 that used to power the RSS platform for NewsGator back in 2007-2008).

image

 

image

I think Geekbench is a very valuable tool for checking your CPU and memory performance, whether it is on a laptop or a database server.

This entry was posted in Computer Hardware, Processors and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Geekbench 2.2 Released

  1. Travis says:

    GeekBench is a disapointment. I have serious confidence and usability concerns after purchase and installation. I took it for a drive after hearing your sugestion on today’s SQL PASS webinar but its a let down.

    My unbelievable laptop test results were 3 x higher on battery than on AC pwr. If performance was better on AC pwr I might look into pwr mgmt plans, but these results are rediculous. Then the results went up >25% by running a later version of the app. I wouldn’t have run an older version first except the purchase product link took me to an old download. Additionally, documentation on the product is very thin. Is this really the best tool to quantify the value of high value CPU’s & servers?

    I followed up with a test using Passmark and results were within 1% with vs. without AC pwr. I’m not sure I’m using the best tools (Passmark & SiSoft), but I’ve done numerous tests with each and never had results this unbelievable. Surely a lightwieght tool exists for various platforms, but I’ll stay away from Geekbench.

    • Glenn Berry says:

      Hi Travis,

      What type of processor do you have in your laptop? Geekbench 2.2.0 just came out, and I have noticed that it seems to have somewhat higher scores than Geekbench 2.1.13. In my testing, I have seen pretty consistent scores on multiple runs of GB on the same hardware, with the same power scheme. If you can give me some more detail about what you are seeing, I can forward the results to the Geekbench developer.

      Geekbench has been around for years, with many, many thousands of users. I have never heard of anyone seeing the type of results that you have seen.

Leave a Reply

