Important note about indexes in SQL Server 2005

Based on the number of Google hits that I am getting about my previous post regarding an error like this:

Msg 2552, Level 16, State 2, Line 1
The index "PK_FeedRecommendations" (partition 1) on table "FeedRecommendations" cannot be reorganized because page level locking is disabled.

This seems to be a pretty common problem for people. I can see why, since the default behavoir when you create an index with the GUI in SQL Server Management Studio is to disable page-level locking for the index. I am very curious why this is the default behavoir, so I will be bugging my various Microsoft contacts to see if I can get an explanation. If I do, I will definitely blog about it…

This entry was posted in SQL Server 2005. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Important note about indexes in SQL Server 2005

  1. Glenn says:

    This was corrected in SP2 for SQL Server 2005. Now the SSMS GUI will enable page level locking when you create a new index.

Leave a Reply

